Never Forget

Fifteen years ago today, like every other day, I woke up in the morning and rolled out of bed. Little did I know my little world would change forever.

The day continued as normal. I  went to the kitchen and most likely had a bowl of cereal for breakfast. I got myself dressed and brushed my teeth. Soon enough my dad would come home from work and mom would be leaving soon for work. I would watch some Spongebob with my sisters and dad before I left for school that day. As normal, I would stop on my walk to pick up my neighbor friends and we’d walk to Lincoln Elementary together. My same daily morning routine.

After getting to school, I would play outside with my friends, then head in to Mrs. Oleson’s second grade classroom as the bell rang. I loved school, so I’m sure I was excited for another day there. The day continued as normal for about another hour or so.

During silent reading that morning, I remember hearing the announcement that there were attacks at the twin towers in NYC, and the pentagon as well. Little did I know this would change my world forever. I was too young to understand exactly what was going on, but I remember the impact it had on all of those around me and shortly began to see the effect on others in the United States and even world wide. I had no idea what terrorism was. I had no idea the world was such a scary place, and that it would only become scarier.

September 11 was just another day on the calendar until 2001. Every year following, it has become a day of remembrance. A day no one, not even I want to relive. I remember watching as the towers began to collapse. I remember watching video after video on the news that morning. I remember being picked up from school by my dad that day and coming home to watch the news and see more and more of the horrific scene in New York City.

Fifteen years later I sit here in remembrance of those who lost their lives that unforgettable day in September of 2001. I’m heartbroken by the fact that for the past 15 years this country spends every September 11th ultimately reliving the horrific events of that day, and in remembrance of the tragedy that took place that day. I sit here and pray for those who went through loss of loved ones that day, from people on the plane, to people working in the World Trade Center that day, the brave men and women who went flooding into the building to try to save as many people as they could but never found their way out alive.  My heart just breaks for all of those affected. I also pray for peace for those who lost loved ones, and those who still struggle. I pray for those who feel that terrorism is what their life is meant to be a part of. Like I said the world is truly a scary place, and it only continues to become scarier.

I find myself watching videos after videos of those towers falling again today. And videos taken by passers by of people in sheer panic. I watch countless documentaries on the day, and learn more and more about the tragedy. At 22 years old, I understand more of what took place that day, but still will never fully understand it. I don’t think anyone ever will. I can’t help but cry when I hear stories of the tragedy that day.

September 11th 2001 is a day that will forever be engrained in my mind. I will never forget how I felt that day, the feeling isn’t much different today 15 years later. Sadness. Anger. Confusion. Disbelief. That doesn’t even begin to describe it. It is sad that terrorist attacks are becoming “normal” in todays society. We are no longer surprised when we hear of these tragedies on the news. I only hope that some day this world can find peace. I hope that human kind can come together and be one. I hope that one day terrorism won’t be a topic of every day conversation, and will no longer be a threat worldwide.

September 11th 2001 is a day myself, and many other Americans will never forget.

maxresdefault

 

 

Leave a Reply

